Signed, “Old Resident.”  NOTABLE FORMER RESIDENTS During the eighties, Union Springs could boast of three World Championships at one and the same time: William Hoagland ? Champion Heel and Toe Walker. Henry Carr ? Champion Skater. Charles Courtney ? International Single Shell Amateur Champion, 1876. James B.
Burlew promoted fast horses of Hambletonian and Champion stock. He owned a livery stable on Cayuga Street, opposite Homer Street.
Horse racing on the ice was a common sport.
People drove across the ice from Canoga to shop. Kay Whittlesey, boat building, had a shop on Factory Street.
Here George Backus, as a lad, watched him whittle the weather vane, a horse and an oar, symbols of motion, which can be seen today on the Backus garage on Seminary Street. Junius Irving, son of John Irving, who conducted the marble works on South Cayuga Street for many years, was a native of Union Springs.
He invented the spring-actuated loose leaf ring book which revolutionized record-keeping. M.
Pratt, owner of the point known for many years as “Pratt’s Pointt”, was responsible for the invention of a pectin product used to make jams and jellies. LIST OF MERCHANTS – 1875 As listed on a map of Union Springs found in the Walker and Jewett Atlas of Cayuga County, N.Y. CAYUGA STREET BUSINESS REFERENCE 1.
Rosecrants, Meat Market 2.
Stuart, Boots and Shoes 3.
King, Billiard and Saloon 4.
Frees, Jewelry 5.
Post Office 6.
Read more about He owned a livery stable on Cayuga Street, opposite Homer Street: